Michigan State University
Michigan State University
Global Studies in the Arts and Humanities
Affiliated Faculty
Home > People > Affiliated Faculty


GSAH AFFILIATED FACULTY

Global Studies in the Arts and Humanities invites faculty to affiliate with the program.  GSAH is working to expand the MSU network of scholars and teachers who are interested in opportunities for interdisciplinary teaching and a collaborative engagement on global issues.  By building connections within and across colleges with affiliated faculty, GSAH aims to bring the arts and humanities into dialogue with a broad range of disciplinary approaches to globalization. 

  • Affiliated faculty contribute to co-curricular activities sponsored by the program (conferences, lunches, brown-bags, reading groups and writing groups). 
  • Affiliated faculty courses in their home department can serve to fulfill GSAH student degree requirements.
  • Affiliated faculty can advertise their courses to GSAH students. 
  • Affiliated faculty can mentor GSAH majors' capstone projects.
  • Affiliated faculty extend the program’s research and teaching network of scholars.

Please contact the program for affiliating with GSAH.  

 

 NAME

 POSITION

 DEPARTMENT

 EMAIL

 PHONE

Arch, Stephen
 Professor
Early American Studies and 19th-Century American Literature
 English
 arch@msu.edu
 (517) 884-4419
Aslami, Zarena
 Associate Chairperson for Graduate Studies, Associate Professor
19th Century British Literature
 English
 aslami@msu.edu
 (517) 884-4425
Bering-Porter, David
  Assistant Professor
Film Studies
 English
 dbp@msu.edu
 (517) 884-4440
Boyadjian, Tamar
 Assistant Professor
Medieval Studies
 English
 tamar@msu.edu
 (517) 884-4437
Chakrani, Brahim
 Assistant Professor
Arabic
 Linguistics/Languages
 chakrani@msu.edu
 (517) 432-3570
Contreras, Sheila
Associate Dean for Diversity, Inclusion, and Community Engagement,
Associate Professor
20th Century and Contemporary Literature/US Latin, Literature, Film, and Culture
 English
 sheilac@msu.edu
 (517) 353-8685
Corneal, Chris
 Associate Professor, Department Chairperson
Graphic Design
 Art, Art History and Design
 corneal@msu.edu
 (517) 355-7612
Denzel, Valentina
 Assistant Professor
French
 Romance and Classical Studies
 vdenzel@msu.edu
 (517) 884-4360
Domer, Kirk
 Department Chair,
Associate Professor
Scene Design
 Theatre
 domer@msu.edu
 (517) 355-6690
Floyd, Phylis
 Associate Professor
Modern Art, Museology, Art History & Visual Culture
 Art, Art History and Design
 floyd@msu.edu
 (517) 353-9105
Fraiberg, Steven
 Assistant Professor
 Writing Rhetoric and American Culture
 sfraibe2@msu.edu
 (517) 884-3885
Francese, Joseph
 Distinguished Professor
Italian
 Romance and Classical Studies
 francese@msu.edu
 (517) 884-6310
Fritzsche, Sonja
 Department Chair, Professor
German
 Linguistics/Languages
 fritzsc9@msu.edu
 (517) 353-0740
Gabilondo, Joseba
  Associate Professor Spanish
 Romance and Classical Studies
 joseba@msu.edu
 (517) 884-6327
Gifford, Fred
 Professor
Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Ethics of Health Care, Health Care Ethics and Development
 Philosophy
 gifford@msu.edu
 (517) 353-9391
Grabill, Jeff
 Director, Associate Provost for Teaching, Learning, and Technology
 Innovation in Learning and Technology
 grabill@msu.edu
 (517) 355-2400
Keune, Jon
 Assistant Professor
South Asian Religions
 Religious Studies
 keunejon@msu.edu
 (517) 353-0830
Larabee, Ann
 Professor
20th Century and Contemporary Literature
 English
 larabee@msu.edu
 (517) 884-4432
Long, Christopher
 Dean
 College of Arts and Letters
 cplong@msu.edu
 (517) 355-4597
Ma, Sheng-Mei
 Professor
Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies/Film Studies/Postcolonial Literature and Culture/20th Century and Contemporary Literature
 English
 mash@msu.edu
 (517) 353-3764
McCallum, Ellen
 Associate Professor
Critical Theory, Film Studies, Modernism
 English
 emc@msu.edu
 (517) 884-4430
McKeon, Matthew
 Associate Professor, Department Chair
Epistemology, Metaphysics, Logic & Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mathematics
 Philosophy
 mckeonm@msu.edu
 (517) 355-4490
Merrill, Jason
 Professor 
Russian
 Linguistics/Languages
 merril25@msu.edu
 (517) 355-8365
Mittman, Elizabeth
 Associate Professor
German
 Linguistics/Languages
 mittman@msu.edu
 (517) 355-5170
Noverr, Douglas
Department Chair
 Romance and Classical Studies
 noverr@msu.edu
 (517) 355-8350
Odonnell, Patrick
 Professor
Twentieth and Twenty-First Century British and American Literature
 English
 pod@msu.edu
 (517) 355-7575
Olds, Marshall
 Professor
French
 Romance and Classical Studies
 molds@msu.edu
 (517) 884-6324
Pillai, Swarnavel
 Assistant Professor
Film Studies
 English
 eswaran@msu.edu
 (517) 884-4446
Prestel, David
 Senior Associate Dean
 College of Arts and Letters
 prestel@msu.edu
 (517) 353-8750
Quispe-Agnoli, Rocio
 Professor
Spanish
 Romance and Classical Studies
 quispeag@cal.msu.edu
 (517) 884-6315
Rauscher, Fred
 Associate Dean
Undergraduate Education
 College of Arts and Letters
 rauscher@msu.edu
 (517) 355-4490
Ryu, Catherine
 Associate Professor
Japanese
 Linguistics/Languages
 ryuc@msu.edu
 (517) 353-6656
Sang, Tze-lan
 Professor
Chinese
 Linguistics/Languages
 tzelan@msu.edu
 (517) 884-4339
Schoonover, Karl
 Assistant Professor
Film Studies
English 
 schoono8@msu.edu
 (517) 355-7570
Segal, Ethan
 Associate Professor
East Asia, Ancient, Medieval, Pre-modern, Early Modern, Comparative, Economic, Political, Women & Gender
 History
 segale@msu.edu
 (517) 884-4926
Shin, Mina
 Specialist
 Visiting International Professional Program
 mshin@msu.edu
 (517) 884-2180
Simmons, Elizabeth
  Dean, University Distinguished Professor
Physics
 Lyman Briggs Dean
 esimmons@msu.edu
 (517) 355-4597
Singh, Jyotsna
 Professor
Early Modern Literature and Culture/Film Studies/Postcolonial Literature and Culture
 English
 jsingh@msu.edu
 (517) 884-4459
Stowe, David
 Chairperson, Professor
20th Century and Contemporary Literature
 English
 stowed@msu.edu
 (517) 355-7575
Suleiman, Camelia
 Assistant Professor
Arabic
 Linguistics/Languages
 csuleima@msu.edu
 (517) 884-4320
Versluis, Arthur
 Chairperson
 Religious Studies
 versluis@msu.edu
 (517) 353-9098
White, Ann Eleanor-Folino 
 Associate Professor, Head of Theatre Studies
Theatre Studies and Directing
 Theatre
 whitea38@msu.edu
 (517) 884-7790
Whyte, Kyle
 Associate Professor, Timnick Chair in the Humanities
Environmental Justice, Climate Justice, American Indian Philosophy
 Philosophy
 kwhyte@msu.edu
 (517) 355-4490
Woodruff, Lily Michelle 
 Assistant Professor
Art History & Visual Culture
 Art, Art History and Design
 woodru56@msu.edu
 (517) 432-3109
Wurst, Karin
 Professor
German
 Provost Evp for Academic Affairs, Lingustics/Langugages
 wurst@msu.edu
 (517) 884-4391