Michigan State University
Michigan State University
Global Studies in the Arts and Humanities
Affiliated Faculty
Home > People > Affiliated Faculty


GSAH AFFILIATED FACULTY

Global Studies in the Arts and Humanities invites faculty to affiliate with the program.  GSAH is working to expand the MSU network of scholars and teachers who are interested in opportunities for interdisciplinary teaching and a collaborative engagement on global issues.  By building connections within and across colleges with affiliated faculty, GSAH aims to bring the arts and humanities into dialogue with a broad range of disciplinary approaches to globalization. 

  • Affiliated faculty contribute to co-curricular activities sponsored by the program (conferences, lunches, brown-bags, reading groups and writing groups). 
  • Affiliated faculty courses in their home department can serve to fulfill GSAH student degree requirements.
  • Affiliated faculty can advertise their courses to GSAH students. 
  • Affiliated faculty can mentor GSAH majors' capstone projects.
  • Affiliated faculty extend the program’s research and teaching network of scholars.

Please contact the program for affiliating with GSAH.  

 

 NAME

 POSITION

 DEPARTMENT

 EMAIL

Arch, Stephen
 Professor
Early American Studies and 19th-Century American Literature
 English
 arch@msu.edu
Askari, Kaveh
Associate Professor
Cinema and Media History in a Global Context
 English
askarik1@msu.edu
Aslami, Zarena
 Associate Chairperson for Graduate Studies, Associate Professor
19th Century British Literature
 English
 aslami@msu.edu
Borcila, Andaluna
Associate Professor
American Studies
James Madison College
borcila@msu.edu
Boyadjian, Tamar
 Assistant Professor
Medieval Studies
 English
 tamar@msu.edu
Chakrani, Brahim
 Assistant Professor
Arabic
 Linguistics/Languages
 chakrani@msu.edu
Chambliss, Julian
Professor
 English
chambl91@msu.edu
Contreras, Sheila
Associate Dean for Diversity, Inclusion, and Community Engagement,
Associate Professor
20th Century and Contemporary Literature/US Latin, Literature, Film, and Culture
 English
 sheilac@msu.edu
Corneal, Chris
 Associate Professor, Department Chairperson
Graphic Design
 Art, Art History and Design
 corneal@msu.edu
Das Gupta, Sejuti
 Assistant Professor
 
James Madison College
dasgup16@msu.edu
Denzel, Valentina
 Assistant Professor
French
 Romance and Classical Studies
 vdenzel@msu.edu
Domer, Kirk
 Department Chair,
Associate Professor
Scene Design
 Theatre
 domer@msu.edu
Figueroa, Yomaira
Assistant Professor
English and AAAS
English/AAAS
yomairaf@msu.edu
Floyd, Phylis
 Associate Professor
Modern Art, Museology, Art History & Visual Culture
 Art, Art History and Design
 floyd@msu.edu
Fraiberg, Steven
 Assistant Professor
 Writing Rhetoric and American Culture
 sfraibe2@msu.edu
Francese, Joseph
 Distinguished Professor
Italian
 Romance and Classical Studies
 francese@msu.edu
Fritzsche, Sonja
 Department Chair, Professor
German
 College of Arts and Letters
 fritzsc9@msu.edu
Gabilondo, Joseba
  Associate Professor Spanish
 Romance and Classical Studies
 joseba@msu.edu
Gifford, Fred
 Professor
Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Ethics of Health Care, Health Care Ethics and Development
 Philosophy
 gifford@msu.edu
Grabill, Jeff
 Director, Associate Provost for Teaching, Learning, and Technology
 Innovation in Learning and Technology
 grabill@msu.edu
Issa, Sadam
  Assistant Professor
 Arabic
 
  Linguistics/Languages
sissa@msu.edu
Keune, Jon
 Assistant Professor
South Asian Religions
 Religious Studies
 keunejon@msu.edu
Larabee, Ann
 Professor
20th Century and Contemporary Literature
 English
 larabee@msu.edu
Long, Christopher
 Dean
 College of Arts and Letters
 cplong@msu.edu
Ma, Sheng-Mei
 Professor
Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies/Film Studies/Postcolonial Literature and Culture/20th Century and Contemporary Literature
 English
 mash@msu.edu
McCallum, Ellen
 Associate Professor
Critical Theory, Film Studies, Modernism
 English
 emc@msu.edu
McKeon, Matthew
 Associate Professor, Department Chair
Epistemology, Metaphysics, Logic & Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mathematics
 Philosophy
 mckeonm@msu.edu
Merrill, Jason
 Professor 
Russian
 Linguistics/Languages
 merril25@msu.edu
Mittman, Elizabeth
 Associate Professor
German
 Linguistics/Languages
 mittman@msu.edu
Olds, Marshall
 Professor
French
 Romance and Classical Studies
 molds@msu.edu
Pegler-Gordon, Anna
Associate Professor
American Studies
 
James Madison College 
gordonap@msu.edu
Peters, Tacuma
Assistant Professor
Political Theory & Constitutional Democracy
James Madison College
and Philosophy
tacumap@msu.edu
Pillai, Swarnavel
 Assistant Professor
Film Studies
 English
 eswaran@msu.edu
Prestel, David
 Senior Associate Dean
 College of Arts and Letters
 prestel@msu.edu
Quispe-Agnoli, Rocio
 Professor
Spanish
 Romance and Classical Studies
 quispeag@cal.msu.edu
Rauscher, Fred
 Associate Dean
Undergraduate Education
 Philosophy
 rauscher@msu.edu
Rohs, Stephen
 Associate Professor
American Studies
James Madison College
rohs@msu.edu
Ryu, Catherine
 Associate Professor
Japanese
 Linguistics/Languages
 ryuc@msu.edu
Sayed, Linda
Assistant Professor
Contemporary Middle East
 
James Madison College
sayedlin@msu.edu
Shin, Mina
 Specialist
 Visiting International Professional Program
 mshin@msu.edu
Singh, Jyotsna
 Professor
Early Modern Literature and Culture/Film Studies/Postcolonial Literature and Culture
 English
 jsingh@msu.edu
Stowe, David
 Chairperson, Professor
20th Century and Contemporary Literature
 English
 stowed@msu.edu
Thobani, Sitara
 Assistant Professor
 Performance Arts in Colonial and Post Colonial South Asia
 
 Residential College in the Arts and Humanities   thobanis@msu.edu 
Tremonte, Colleen
Professor
James Madison College
tremonte@msu.edu
Versluis, Arthur
 Chairperson
 Religious Studies
 versluis@msu.edu
White, Ann Eleanor-Folino 
 Associate Professor, Head of Theatre Studies
Theatre Studies and Directing
 Theatre
 whitea38@msu.edu
Whyte, Kyle
 Associate Professor, Timnick Chair in the Humanities
Environmental Justice, Climate Justice, American Indian Philosophy
 Philosophy
 kwhyte@msu.edu
Woodruff, Lily Michelle 
 Assistant Professor
Art History & Visual Culture
 Art, Art History and Design
 woodru56@msu.edu
Wurst, Karin
 Professor
German
 Provost Evp for Academic Affairs, Lingustics/Langugages
 wurst@msu.edu